MISSOURI PUBLIC DEFENDER FEES

[bookmark: _GoBack]The public defender assigned to your case is NOT free.   Missouri law requires that you be charged a fee for public defender services.  
WHAT YOU WILL OWE:  The amount owed depends on your charge.  The chart below will show you what you can expect to pay:
SCHEDULE OF CHARGES
Effective July 1, 2014

	Early Withdrawal
	$25

	Misdemeanor
	$125

	Probation Violation
	$125

	Felony
	$375

	Felony Sex Case
	$500

	Murder (non-death penalty)
	$750

	Murder (death penalty)
	$1,500

	Appeal
	$375

	Post-Conviction Relief Motion
	$375

	Sexually Violent Predator Commitment
	$750



If you have more than one charge, you will be charged the fee for the most serious charge.  If you have more than one case, you will be charged a separate fee for each case.   (If all your charges are listed together on the same complaint under the same case number, they are all considered one case.  If each charge is listed on its own separate document – sometimes called a complaint, an information, or an indictment—each with a different case number, then those are considered separate cases and will each carry a separate fee.)
When your public defender completes the handling of your case, s/he usually is required by law to ask the judge for a judgment in the amount shown on the fee schedule.  A judgment is a court order that you pay.  The judge can grant the judgment in the fee amount, change the amount (up or down), or deny the judgment altogether.  The judge can also make payment of the judgment a condition of probation.  
The Missouri State Public Defender System will collect on the fees as long as the judge has not denied a judgment.  
IF YOU LATER HIRE A PRIVATE ATTORNEY:  If you ask the Public Defender to represent you and then later decide to hire a private attorney, you will still owe the public defender fee.  
PAYMENTS:  The local public defender office where your lawyer works cannot take any payments.  Payments must be made online or by mail to the Missouri Public Defender State Office. Most circuit clerks’ offices will also accept payments, including cash, for public defender fees. The fees become due as soon as your case is completed or the public defender withdraws from your case.  You can make payments of as little as $5.00 at a time.  You can make payments once a week, once a month, once a pay period, or whenever you can, until the fee is paid off.  If you qualify for a state income tax refund or win money from the state lottery before you have paid off your public defender fee, instead of sending that money to you, the State of Missouri may use it to pay whatever is still owed on your public defender fee(s). 
INABILITY TO PAY:   If you have a special circumstance that makes it unlikely you will EVER be able to pay the fee, you can talk to the judge about asking that the fee in your case be waived.  Your lawyer cannot waive the fee, but the judge in your case can.  Please understand however:  The fact that you cannot pay the fee right NOW is not grounds for a fee to be waived.  The question is whether you will EVER be able to pay the fee, even months or years down the road.  If you have reason to believe that, given your situation, you will never be able to pay the fee, talk with your lawyer about how and when you can present that issue to the court in your case. 

WHEN AND WHERE TO PAY:  
The fees become due as soon as your case is completed or the public defender withdraws from your case.  
To pay online: 			http://www.publicdefender.mo.gov/payments

To mail a payment:  		Missouri Public Defender
				P.O. Box 10282
				Columbia, MO 65205
				(Check or Money Order.  PLEASE do not send cash)

Missouri state income tax refunds and Missouri lottery winnings will be intercepted by the State of Missouri to pay off outstanding public defender fees.  

If you have questions:		Call 573-777-9944
Since many people have the same name, you will need your case number(s) in order to make sure your payments are credited to the right person and fee(s).  Your lawyer can give you copies of your paperwork with your case number or write it below for you to keep:

CASE NUMBER:  ________________________________________________________________
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